Myself

Time, The Only Currency That Matters

Yesterday, I sat in the basement of my house with a best friend. We watched a movie. Sadie slept and cuddled and listened. Jackie and I cried. The movie, About Time, centers on time travel. It may be my favorite movie after yesterday because as I watched I was transported outside of my life (I know corny). It jolted me with reminders. This is all we have. This is the one life you get. You get to spend these few weeks with your baby and this one day with Jackie. You don’t get to go back.

Spoiler alert: the son goes back with his Dad to have one final walk on the beach and to say goodbye. I would give a lot to walk on the beach with my Mom again. I want to wear a big hat, smother sunscreen on each other, leave our shoes in the sand and hold hands as the salty water laps at our feet. Luckily, we have heaven and the eternal. On earth, I still want those precious hands and feet and arms. I feel her presence everyday as the wind chimes in our back yard call out, “Listen for me in the wind because I am going to be there.” The wind chimes are rarely silent. Love you Mom.

So, as we go into the holiday weekend remember and act. Time is the ultimate currency. Time is the only currency that matters.

“And in the end I think I’ve learned the final lesson from my travels in time; and I’ve even gone one step further than my father did: The truth is I now don’t travel back at all, not even for the day, I just try to live every day as if I’ve deliberately come back to this one day, to enjoy it, as if it was the full final day of my extraordinary, ordinary life.” About Time, 2013.

One thought on “Time, The Only Currency That Matters

Leave a Reply

